(952) 431-4345 Wishlist -      Cart

Featured Employee: Dee Englund

by | Sep 30, 2013 | Market News

Employee Name: Dee Englund

Number of years of service at Pahl’s:
I’m starting my 24th year at Pahl’s

Briefly describe your job duties at Pahl’s:
Spring/Summer – assisting customers in the greenhouses, helping them to plan their gardens and container plantings. Helping our new employees get acclimated to Pahl’s. Fall/Winter – cashiering in the market, helping wherever I’m needed

What is the most rewarding part of your job?
Welcoming back our long-time customers each spring and re-connecting with them. Working with the best co-workers ever! Also, instilling confidence in customers who are new to gardening and assuring them, that “Yes, you can do this!” It’s so gratifying when they come back the following year and say, “I got so many compliments on my container/bed/basket! Can we do it again?”

Tell us about your family…
My husband John and I have four grown children (one daughter and three sons) and they’ve all worked at Pahl’s at one time or another during the years–even my husband! We also have two incredible grand-daughters. John has worked as a journeyman glazier for 35+ years and still helps out when the union calls him. He started a handyman business almost 10 years ago and that keeps him busy. Our daughter Jennie works at the U of M and has almost completed her Master’s degree. Our oldest son Andy recently moved to Tucson AZ where he does what he loves – auto mechanics. Joe works for Imperial Plastics in Lakeville. And Jonny works nights at UPS and currently attends school at Century College. He is in the horticulture program.

What is your favorite time of day/day of the week/month of the year? Why?
Fall/September—mainly because that’s when I started working at Pahl’s and it brings back so many memories . . .

What is your favorite indoor/outdoor activity?
Outdoor—Gardening, of course! Also, camping/hiking/geocaching (with our grand- daughters) at any one of our state parks.

What is the farthest you have been away from home? Tell us the most unique experience from that trip?
Guatemala – I had the wonderful opportunity to go on a mission trip (through DCTC) to San Lucas Toliman. The people I met there helped me realize what is truly important in life.

What are three things on your “Bucket List”?
I’d love to go back to Guatemala, see the East Coast in the fall, and see more of Mexico–I love it there!

What do you miss most about being a kid?
No responsibilities, no bills to pay

If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?
Line-dancing and driving a tractor – my son Andy did it when he worked on the farm and I was SO jealous!

What was the first thing you bought with your own money?
A sewing machine, which I used years later to make costumes for my kids

If you could choose anyone, who would you pick to be your mentor? Why?
I believe everyone has a story – people are endlessly fascinating, so I think we can all learn from each other as we go through life.

What is your all time favorite movie?
Two are tied for that one – Notting Hill and The Birdcage (Nathan Lane is hysterical!)

What song do you play the most often?
“Through the Years” by Kenny Rogers

What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever done?
Making decisions for my mother’s care when she was diagnosed with a fast-growing inoperable brain tumor. Thankfully, I had my siblings and my incredible sister-in-law helping every step of the way.

 

News

Related posts

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

781,867 Spambots Blocked by Simple Comments

Pahl's Loyaty Program
Become a Member Now!

 

Earn Dollar Rewards with Every Purchase, Learn About Upcoming Events and Sales, Member-Only Discounts .

 

Learn More

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop